Dilemma Thursday… I mean Tuesday.

It’s Tuesday. Our first annual Beals’ St. Patrick’s Day Crawfish Boil is on Saturday and… we still have a few things to do. I mean, only like 27 things. Ish.

Let’s just say that the therapeutic list making has begun in earnest. If I have a list it’ll all get done… or at least that’s what I tell myself.

One thing I need to cross off my list is food. Yes, we’re having traditional boil fare -crawfish, corn, red potatoes, and andoulle sausage boiled in a delicious melange of spices- but some people don’t fancy crawfish, as crazy as that might sound. For them, we’re planning on making Kevin’s homemade Jambalaya recipe (PS. If you haven’t tried this one, you need to).

Jambalaya

I’ve also been thinking I’ll make some Guinness and Bailey’s cupcakes like these from From Away. Their recipe is really similar to mine.

car-bomb-cupcakes

I’m stuck on what else to have though. I’d like to have some traditional-ish Irish food (maybe for an appetizer), but I’m not sure what to do. I thought about maybe some small boxty with toppings or a cheese plate with some Dubliner, Cashel Blue, and other Irish cheeses, but that might get expensive.

Cashel blue

What else would you serve? Anything? We know of sixteen people that are definitely coming, but may have more than that show up.

16 thoughts on “Dilemma Thursday… I mean Tuesday.

  1. Oh I have no idea what types of food are Irish… sorry 😦
    We usually try to have things that make good party food and aren’t too expensive (Spanish tortilla, quiche, empanada, quesadillas … ) and several types of salsas/dips. A cheese platter sounds really nice if you can swing it!

  2. I love the idea of Irish cheeses! You could make soda or potato bread to go with them if you didn’t do the boxty. I love love love colcannon and champ, but that doesn’t go with the crawfish boil very well I guess!

    I think the troubles are still too recent memory for anyone over here anything called a “car bomb” but the guinness and baileys cupcakes sound incredible!

  3. Those cupcakes look awesome. I can’t believe it’s already St. Patty’s day. Your party seemed so far away when you started blogging about it!!

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

