Quick and Easy Lemon Herb Chicken

I love to cook. I love to make people happy with the food… but you already knew that.  What you might not have known is that I have a passion for helping people learn to cook healthy, wholesome meals for their families using as few boxed, canned, and prepackaged ingredients as possible. I truly believe that it is possible to feed your family as economically (and as quickly) on “real” food as it is with boxed dinners. You just have to know the basics, do your homework when you shop, and be willing to try to do things you haven’t done before.

When I see a family at the grocery pushing around a cart of instant-this and premade-that, I want to stop and talk to them. Why do they buy what they buy? Is it the cost? Convenience? Fear of getting outside their comfort zone? Do they know that preservative and artificial ingredients, while in many cases not necessarily bad for you, aren’t good for you? Do they know that making homemade mashed potatoes is just as easy as making instant?

So when I say I have a passion for cooking, I mean it. So much so, in fact, that I’m considering staring a second blog to help everyday people learn the absolute basics of meal planning, shopping for “real” food, and, of course, cooking. I’ve also been in contact with our church and hope to start teaching a class with the same ideas.

Of course, if you’re going to start teaching a class or writing a blog about cooking, you need recipes– simple, basic, anyone-can-do-this recipes. I always strive to make our recipes here “user friendly,” but I do understand that someone with two or three hungry mouths to feed doesn’t have the time (or often, resources) available to make something like mushroom risotto (no matter how delicious). Cooking is therapeutic for Kevin and me; we cherish our time in the kitchen together each night and love trying out new recipes, but understand that not everyone has that love or luxury.  Sometimes, you need to fix it and forget it so that you can focus on your life.

Right now, I don’t know that another blog will ever come to fruition. I do know that I really feel led to pursue this… and I hope you try out this recipe for Baked Lemon Herb Chicken.

Baked Lemon Herb Chicken

prep: 15 minutes
cook: 35 minutes

Ingredients:

4 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs (breasts would also work)
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 large lemons, zested and juiced + 1 lemon, cut into wedges
1/4 c. olive oil
1/3 c. dry white wine
2 t. dried thyme
1 t. dried oregano
1/2 t. salt and pepper

Prep:

1. Set your oven to 400 F.

2. In a baking dish, combine the olive oil, lemon zest and juice, white wine, garlic, oregano, and 1 t. dried thyme. Whisk to combine.

3. Rinse the chicken thighs under cold water, feeling the skin for any feather stubs. Dry the chicken well with a paper towel, being sure to get the skin completely dry.

4. Place the thighs in the baking dish (skin side up) and arrange the lemon wedges around them. Sprinkle with the remaining thyme, salt, and pepper.

5. Bake at 400 F for 35 minutes. If the skin isn’t brown, bake under a low broiler for 2-3 additional minutes. Remove from the oven and allow to rest for 5-10 minutes.

6. Serve with an easy veggie. We made steamed carrots, then poured the pan juices over them. They were delicious!

What is your passion?

9 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Lemon Herb Chicken

  1. Hey the new design is looking great – looks like you don’t need any help after all 🙂

    If you’d want to write posts about meal planning, etc, I’d love to have them published as guest posts on my food blog. I mean, I don’t have a ton of readership, but at least it’d be out there and get your writing gears in motion. And maybe it would encourage me to actually post the millions of food pictures I have 😀

    I agree – meal planning has revolutionized my cooking at home. I don’t do my own meal planning yet – I rely on emeals.com. They have a Clean Eating menu that you would probably like. If you haven’t already, “The Kitchen Counter Cooking School” by Kathleen Flinn is a must read. She did what you think about doing – followed people around the grocery store and helped them.

  2. This looks really tasty! I try to keep as many preserved and artificial things out of our diet as possible as well. We try to use fresh meat and produce as much as we can- I feel a lot better about what we eat that way. I know I can improve though and would love to read those posts if you ever get around to posting about them. Good for you for going after a passion of yours!!

  3. Looks delicious and easy peasy! I’ll have to try it with chicken breasts though, although Forrest would eat thighs! Sometimes box dinners are a “must” for us (aka we’re too lazy to cook) but with R very close to arrival, we are constantly thinking what kind of food can we serve for our family. Box dinners tend to make me feel gross afterwards. We were being lazy one night and bought a Butoni (or something along those lines meal). I couldn’t figure out why I felt so terrible after eating it. Then I figured out it had well over 1000 mg per serving of sodium in it. Needless to say I can whip up a simple pasta and a sauce before I make that mistake again!

  4. I saw this recipe just in time – we were about to make box mac & cheese with frozen broccoli for dinner, and I saw this and thought, “hold on… I have all these ingredients!” Thanks!

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

