(Under)Watercolors

Even though updates have been few and far between, Kevin and I are still diligently working on our big bedroom redecorating project. We’re getting so close to being done we can taste it (and it tastes like awesomeness, just in case you were wondering). We’ve crossed a lot of things off our list.

  • Fill in cracks in crown molding (done here)
  • Replace outlets and light switches (done here)
  • Repaint room (here)
  • Replace ceiling fan with chandelier (finally!)
  • Buy a rug (we scored a great deal at West Elm)
  • Upholster headboard (1000 staples later, we finished)
  • Get more storage (expect a post on this later this week or early next… let’s just say Ikea came to the rescue. Again.)
  • Curtains (Again, a post is coming soon)
  • Sew Pillows
  • Artwork
  • Paint lamps (I don’t know what color to paint them!)
  • Accessorize (Still collecting things to set out)

And in case you missed it or need a refresher, here’s our bedroom mood board (my first ever, from this post).

We’ve been doing pretty well budget-wise on this project, scoring the rug for cheap and using coupons to buy the supplies for the headboard at JoAnn’s. Still, funds are starting to get tight for this project. I really want to be able to splurge on some fabrics on the bed pillows, which means I need to find ways to save on the artwork and accessories. Enter DIY art. I was inspired by Kristen’s post about watercolors, and while I don’t have a tenth of the talent she obviously has, I figured, hey, why not give it a shot?

I used more coupons (from Michael’s this time… they don’t call us the coupon kids for nothing) to buy watercolor paper, paint brushes, and good ol’ Crayola watercolor paints.

After some thought, I decided to play it safe and try to paint coral. I looked a few pictures on Google, then threw all caution to the wind and freehanded it.

I even signed each one.

While at Ikea this weekend, Kev and I bought two 16×19 frames for this project. I think they were $16.99 each, which for a frame that large didn’t seem that much to us. The watercolor paper was just a hair to small for the mats (which had me panicking for about two minutes), but it turns out that makes them look like they were professionally framed. Go figure.

I can’t wait to get them hung! I honestly can’t stop looking at them. I’ll be walking through the house and just pop into the bedroom to gaze at them in wonder. What do you think?
Have you DIYed any art for your house lately? Have you used watercolors since you were in elementary school? Do my pictures look as horribly white-balanced to you as they do on my monitor? I’m not sure if it’s our Canon or this computer making them look so funky.

Posted in DIY

14 thoughts on “(Under)Watercolors

  1. Thanks for the shout out 🙂 I saw your instagram shot of the coral and let me just say I LOVE how this project turned out!! It looks awesome and I can’t wait to see it on the walls!

  2. These are great!! They look fabulous- you need to give yourself some credit! I love that they are a little small for the matte- totally makes them look professionally framed!

  3. The art looks great! And yay for happy accidents. I think you did a wonderful job. I actually tackled a couple things for our master bedroom a couple weeks ago and just haven’t hung them yet. I can’t wait to see how they look in the room. Hopefully they look half as good as your art work does! 🙂

  4. I love that so much! What a great touch 🙂 And not much DIY art around our house lately, I did make a name plague for R but I can’t share it quite yet 😉

  5. Pingback: Pushing the Envelope | Little House. Big Heart.

  6. Pingback: Thursday Dilemma: Wednesday Edition | Little House. Big Heart.

  7. Pingback: Get the Picture? | Little House. Big Heart.

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

