Down with Brown

This is a big week for me. Monday was Kevin and my first wedding anniversary (you can see pictures from our wedding here) and tomorrow is my birthday (the big 2-5). Last year we were on our honeymoon for my birthday. Kevin gave me a 4 hour couples spa treatment complete with four-hands massage, facial, body scrub, wrap, and jacuzzi. This year, I’m asking for one thing: the bedroom.

We’ve not touched the bedroom since we moved in. It’s like living in a sea of brown: brown walls, brown dressers, brown duvet, brown nightstands, brown, brown, brown. It looks like someone sprayed our bedroom down with a chocolate malt. I love chocolate malts… just not on my walls.

Not that I have anything against brown… I’m just more of a gray kind of girl.  I’ve been dying to get at this room with a can of paint for more than a year. Finally, the time has come. The two rooms below are my inspiration rooms. I love the relaxing blue grays in both and the pops of coral in the second (click on the photos to go to their source).

I’ve even made my first mood board in honor of the occasion.

The walls will be “Ice Rink” by Martha Stewart for Behr. I love the icy blue– it’s very calming (which is important to me– I think a bedroom should be a sanctuary). We’ve had the paint chip hanging on the wall for about six months and the color is great in every light. We’re planning on switching out the cruddy white cieling fan for this Ikea chandelier and we’ll be painting all of our existing furniture white.

I’d love to do some accent pillows with the coral ikat. I’m still looking for fabric for doing a upholstered headboard (we’re considering canvas drop cloths), but that will be one of the first projects we tackle. The rug is this one that I tried to buy on super sale from Williams-Sonoma (it was sold out before I could get my order in). I’m still looking for a comparable one.

I can’t wait to get started. Kevin has some more business travel in the not too distant future, so our progress may be a little slow, but I’ll take any progress towards getting rid of the brown.

What did you ask for for your birthday? How did you celebrate your last birthday? What do you think of “relaxing coastal chic?”

PS. If you haven’t yet, vote on yesterday’s post!

29 thoughts on “Down with Brown

  1. I love the relaxing coastal chic! What is the orange ikat for? Pillows? Could look good stretched onto a frame as an affordable large-scale wall art option!

  2. Love grey… especially with pops of coral!! Coral is a favourite colour of mine at the moment. That’s a great birthday gift! Happy birthday tomorrow! I turn 25 later this year- it’s a big one! So where did you go on your surprise trip?! The suspense is killing me!

  3. Pretty colors! That is going to look great. I love the idea of asking for a room to be redone for your birthday; I am soooo doing this next year! I usually don’t really ask for anything, and my Kevin surprises me with something that I didn’t know that I needed, lol.
    I can’t wait to see what you guys come up with!

  4. I think that is a wonderful birthday request! I can’t wait to see your vision come to life!

    And I’m with you, I’m more of a grey girl. 🙂

  5. Love all of that! We painted our bedroom grey (from ivory, ick) and even just painting made such a huge difference! I can’t wait to see how it all turns out! And for rugs, Urban Outfitters and Overstock have really cute rugs and sometimes have good sales. That one is so cute, though, maybe they’ll bring it back. 🙂

    Happy anniversary and birthday! That sounds like a really fun week!

  6. I love your mood board. How did you make it? With Photoshop? I can not wait to see the finished product of your master bedroom.
    I LOVE the colors in the first picture for your master. I am in love with gray. I am thinking of doing gray for my master too.Good luck.
    Also, Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary!!!

  7. Happy early birthday!
    Also, I love your plan for the bedroom. I really need to get back to work with our bedroom (it feels like we’re always running around doing something else).

  8. Pingback: West Elm « Little House. Big Heart.

  9. Pingback: (Under)Watercolors « Little House. Big Heart.

  10. Pingback: Curtains for the Curtains | Little House. Big Heart.

  11. Pingback: Spare the Rod | Little House. Big Heart.

  12. Pingback: Pinterest Challenge, Anyone? | Little House. Big Heart.

  13. Pingback: Get the Picture? | Little House. Big Heart.

  14. Pingback: A Little Year in Review: 2012 | Little House. Big Heart.

  15. Pingback: The Backyard: What’s Left? | Little House. Big Heart.

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

