Paris, mes amis.

Oui, we’re going to Paris (and Tours and London and Brussels)!  We leave next Friday and absolutely, positively cannot wait. Other than our mini Vegas trip, it’s our first vacation since the honeymoon. We don’t have much planned other than where we’re staying; we’re going to try to wing it on suggestions for the most part (so if you have any, let us know).

Days 1-2

We fly into London Heathrow and spend all of Saturday and Sunday there. Our plane tickets were “free;” we were able to purchase them with airline miles Kevin earned flying for work. Our first night of our hotel in London was also “free,”  bought with Hilton points. Our hotel on the corner of Trafalgar Square within a short walk of a tube station. I can’t wait to go shopping while we’re there!

Day 3

We leave London bright and early on day 3 and head through the chunnel towards Brussels, Belgium. We’re only staying here one night (at the Novotel). At the risk of sounding touristy, I’ll admit we’re really only going to Belgium for one thing: Belgian Ale. Kevin can’t wait to get his hands on a Grimbergen.

(via)

Day 4-6

We’re up and on the train early again on Day 4, this time headed for Tours, France. We’re renting a car here and driving to a bed an breakfast in the Loire Valley. I’m so excited for this part of our trip. Our bed and breakfast, Moulin du Mesnil, is absolutely breathtaking and perfectly located. The owner, Yvonne, has already booked reservations for our dinner at the best local restaurants while we’re there. We’ll be spending our days touring the area’s incredible chateaux and visiting some of the local wineries.


(via)

Days 6-9

On day 6 we’re driving to Paris, stopping at anything interesting we find along the way. While in Paris, we’re staying at the Hôtel Thérèse, near the Louve and Tuileries. Much like London, we don’t have anything planned for Paris (so if you have suggestions, let us know).

It’s a whirlwind trip, but we’re so excited it’s getting a little ridiculous. I’ve already started our packing list. With all the moving about, we’re definitely going to need to pack light (and save room for all the shopping I plan on doing). We’ve been practicing our picture taking skillz and even bought a new telephoto lens. We’re hoping to get some great shots to go into a gallery wall of our travel photos in our dining room (more on that project later). We’ve interviewed our doggy babysitter (we’re trying an in-home dog walker this time and leaving our girls to guard the LH) and started to dig some of our travel gear out of the attic. We’re systematically doing laundry and saving back everything we want to wear and I’m wearing new (adorable Puma) walking shoes right now to try to break them in.

7 days and counting!

What do you do to prepare for a big vacation? Any tips for packing light? Any suggestions for what to do (and more importantly, where to eat/drink) in London, Brussels, or Paris? We’re all ears!

16 thoughts on “Paris, mes amis.

  1. I am soooo jealous right now. lol. It sounds positively wonderful! I want to tour Europe very badly but have a feeling it’s not in the cards for us for a loooong time. Consequently since I haven’t been- I have no suggestions for you. Have a great time- can’t wait to see photos.

  2. How exciting! Sounds like a fantastic trip. I’ve only been to London (love it!) There’s SO much to do but if you go shopping at Harrod’s I would also recommend eating at one of the amazing eateries there. Delish. I also use those space-saver bags and they work amazing. I store my dirty clothes in them too on our way back. I also bring clothes that can be easily mixed and matched to create new looks. Oh, and I stuff things in my shoes or any other available knook and cranny.

  3. Pingback: A foodie weekend in London « Annabel Vita

  4. How stinking exciting!! You guys are going to have an awesome time. I wish I had suggestions, but alas I’ve never been to Europe (even though Kevin goes like ever 2 months and is in Italy right now) so I’ll be anxiously awaiting your suggestions upon return.

    Tips for packing light…hmmm…I’ve never done it. Good luck!

  5. I AM SO JEALOUS. Can I stowaway in your luggage?

    Joe and I loved London and want to go back within 5 years. You should check out my posts about where we went on our honeymoon (you can read them here and here). My only suggestions would be to try sleeping on the plane and eat dinner before you board (if you eat on the plane then you have to digest and you don’t really sleep). I think I’m going to shoot you an email with some suggestions because otherwise I’d just be ranting here!

  6. Paris! So glad you’re getting so many days there! I love this cute, semi-touristy (DELICIOUS) restaurant called Le Poulbot in Montmartre. If you don’t want to get museum fatigue, DON’T try to see the Louvre, Musee D’Orsay, and the Centre Pompidou in one trip. I listed them in order of “old art” to “new art” so pick which style you are both interested in and visit one or two of them 😉 Also, this is another touristy thing, but take a Seine boat ride in the evening (with a jacket), you get a unique perspective on the beautiful city at night!

  7. Ahhh! I’m so jealous! Jesse and I are currently saving up for a Europe trip very similar to yours (London, Scotland, Normandy, Paris, Germany) but we wont be saved up enough until next summer (we want to do 2 weeks) I can’t wait to see pictures and hear all about it! 😀

  8. Pingback: Green Hot Chili Peppers « Little House. Big Heart.

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

