February Showers

Remember way back when when I said I was going to make a gutter garden? Well, we finally finished it! The gutters are finally hung (with care) in hopes that baby spinaches will soon be there (too much? I didn’t think so either). Anyway, I was planning on showing you our gutter garden how-to today, but alas, my SD card reader got the best of me. No gutter garden pictures today. Apparently I accidentally used the SD-HC card instead of the plain old SD one and my reader doesn’t like the SD-HC kind. Go figure. I’ll have the hubs fix it tonight and hopefully be able to show the garden tomorrow!

The good news? I finally get to share my friend Danni’s bridal shower with you! It was February 25 at Danni’s parents house in Keller, Texas. I had the honor of throwing the shower (a wine tasting) for her and about thirty of her closest lady friends.

Like my sister’s shower before, I made the invitations on Powerpoint and had them printed via Vistaprint. I have to admit… I love their postcards (and no, they didn’t pay me to say that… if only). They turned out awesomely. I got the idea for them from Etsy seller Pinch of Spice. She has some gorgeous stationary and invites in her Esty store. You should definitely check her out!

I also made wine tasting cards and a “How To Taste Wine” tip card. Like everything else I make, these were made with Powerpoint.

Even if you know how to taste it, you can’t drink wine without wine glasses. I found this chalkboard wine glass tutorial on Pinterest (where else?) and made them using Ikea wine glasses ($4.99/ 6 glasses). We tied chalk to each stem with raffia and set them out as the favors for the shower.

Once you have glasses, you need wine! We had six different varieties, all provided by Danni’s mom, Robbi. For each variety, I made a card listing the name and what the variety pairs well with. These were placed on DIY cork holders made by none other than Kevin! Unfortunately, the pictures of the holder making is also on the SD card I can’t get into, so I’ll have to share that with you some other time.

Once I had the wine out of the way, it was time to focus on food. Danni’s mom had requested chicken salad, dolmas, cheeses, salami, and some yummy deserts. I was happy to oblige. I used Ree’s Chicken Salad recipe (it was the best I’ve ever had). I sliced several types of salami and made a goat cheese stuffed baguette (also found on Pinterest, go figure). We also had several types of cheeses that I set out on cheese boards. As I was up cooking until 2am the night before the party, I had Danni’s mom purchase the dolmas from the local Fancy Pants grocery (they were still yummy).

For dessert, I made a port wine chocolate cake with a port wine ganache. IT. WAS. AWESOME… to put it lightly. I also whipped up a raspberry cheesecake with homemade raspberry coulee (to make it, use this recipe, substituting graham crackers for Oreos and swirling thinned raspberry jelly instead of adding chocolate chips). I also made my mom’s signature (at her restaurant) berry trifle with macerated berries, angel food cake (store bought to save time), and vanilla whipped cream. Danni’s college friend Kate also brought homemade bread and jam (and I brought some of our homemade marmalade). We had promised to save the boys some dessert for when they came to pick us up, but alas, it was all gone. 🙂

For entertainment, we played two shower games. The first was Bridal Bingo (I don’t know why it looks so squished below). On the card were several characteristics of people. As everyone was arriving, the guests talked to each other to find people with the characteristics on the bingo card. The first to get a cover-all won a bottle of wine. The second game was called “In the Bride’s Purse.” Guests were asked to write down ten things they thought were in Danni’s purse (she was warned before hand). When they finished, Danni emptied her purse (it was huuuge). The guest with the most won another bottle of wine (we actually had two tie with nine items, so we had a rock-paper-scissors off for the wine!).

The party was a huge success (one lady told me it was the best bridal shower she’d been to, and that she was 57 and had been to a few), but I couldn’t have done it without my super-hubs, Kevin, and Danni’s friend Kate.

Kate, Danni, and Me

PS. Please don’t judge me by how I look in that photo… I was sleep deprived and stressed. 🙂 I also just realized that this post sounds like a six-year-old wrote it, so don’t judge me by that either. Please?

7 thoughts on “February Showers

  1. I love the invitation! It’s so cute. And what a great idea for a bridal shower. Although I don’t drink wine – but a chocolate or a cheese tasting would be right up my alley!

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

