Fajita Wanna-Eatta

I was sitting in the break room at work yesterday, minding my own business and watching Once Upon a Time on Hulu, when I was stuck with a sudden case of lunch envy. A guy at a table across from me was adding what looked like juicy grilled chicken and sizzling peppers and onions to warm, pillowy tortillas. As he took the first bite he smirked as if he knew that I was ogling his lunch. I was eating leftover NY strip, so I shouldn’t have had lunch envy, but I succumbed. It just looked so. darn. good.

I knew what I had to do. I had to make fajitas for dinner. And this is their story.

Grilled Chicken Fajitas

Ingredients:

For the Chicken
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, trimmed of fat
1 Tbsp. Cayenne Pepper
1 Tbsp. Cumin
1 tsp garlic powder (not garlic salt!!)
1 tsp salt

Everything Else
1 red bell pepper, sliced
1 green bell pepper, sliced
1 medium onion, sliced (I like sweet onions for this, but you can use anything you have on hand)
whole wheat tortillas

Prep:

  1. Add the spices together in a gallon zip top bag. Add the chicken breasts one at a time and coat thoroughly.  This makes a pretty spicy dry rub, so if you like it less spicy, add less cayenne!
  2. Grill the chicken until 160 F. Cover and allow to rest. The temperature will carry over to 165 F.

  3. While the chicken is on the grill, add about 2 tsp of olive oil and the veggies to a large skillet. I like to use my cast iron skillet for this because it hold heat well without burning the veggies. Saute them over medium heat until they’re soft and delicious.

  4. Finally, if you’re a conniseuer of random kitchen gadjets (like myself), you can serve this on your trusty cast iron fajita sizzler. If you don’t have a cast iron sizzler, just pile on a warm tortilla and enjoy (notice that we were eating outside on the deck… it was still 70 degrees at 7:30 pm yesterday)!

 

These fajitas were super easy and inexpensive. We actually grilled four chicken breasts and only ate one between us for dinner. We’re splitting another for lunch today with left over veggies and plan on having the others on a salad later this week. We spent about $9 on supplies for this meal. Assuming we get three meals out of this single preparation, we only spent $3/meal and $1.50/person. Pretty good, huh?

If you try this (or any) of my recipes, please let me know what you think! I don’t actually measure out my quantities as I go; I just eyeball everything and dump. I would love to know your thoughts and suggestions to make these recipes better!

No lunch envy for me today. Hopefully. What about you? Do you ever envy you coworkers lunches?

5 thoughts on “Fajita Wanna-Eatta

  1. These sound delicious! We make similar fajitas very often (although we don’t grill the chicken). I’ll have to try the spice mix and see how it goes.
    Oh and I don’t usually measure the quantities for savory recipes either, so it’s hard to write them down.

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

