Itsa Spicy Meataball!

Ok. They’re actually not spicy. But they could be. They could be (channeling Yoda today I am). I’m in a ridiculously good mood this morning considering the week I’ve had here at work. I’m pretty sure Kevin making me coffee before I left and someone bringing in chocolate cake to my 7am meeting has something to do with that. And this post is about balls (giggle, giggle). I just can’t help but smile every time I type it. Balls (hehe). No, I’ve never outgrown high school and if Mary (my MIL) brings this up this weekend I’ll probably die, but oh well. It’s about letting it all hang out now, right? Seeing the “real” Jess Beals?

There actually is a point to this post today besides me rambling on about chocolate cake and balls (what a combination!). Last night Kevin and I made whole wheat spaghetti with turkey meatballs and they. were. awesome. I just started throwing ingredients together and Viola! Meatballs.

Healthy(er) Turkey Meatballs

Ingredients:

1 lb lean ground turkey
1/2 Onion, diced
3 cloves Garlic, minced
1 Egg
1/2 c. Parmesan Cheese
1/4 c. Bread Crumbs
3 Tbsp. Ketchup
2 Tbsp. Dried Parsley
1 Tsp. Salt
1 Tsp. Pepper

Prep:

  1. Add onion, garlic, parmesan, egg, parsley, bread crumbs, ketchup, salt, and pepper to a large bowl. Mix thoroughly.
  2. Add turkey to mixture and combine. I like to use my hands, but if you’re squeamish, use a spoon (just know it’s not as fun). Don’t over mix the turkey. The more you handle it, the tougher and drier your meatballs will be (and we all hate dry balls… hehe). Only mix until every thing is just combined.
  3. Roll the mixture into about 1 1/2″ diameter balls. The larger they are, the longer they take to cook. The longer they cook, the more likely they are to be dry (again, no good). Roll the balls loosely in your palms (hehe). Dense meatballs = dry, tough meatballs. This was Kevin’s job. You can tell by the look on his face he enjoyed it (PS. Our Canon died somehow, so we’re back to cellphone pictures for now 😦 ).
  4. Fry the meatballs in olive oil over medium heat. They should take about ten minutes to reach an internal temperature of 160 degrees F, turning them every few minutes. You do use a meat thermometer, right? Good. Once the balls reach 160 F, removed them to a paper towel to drain. Cover with foil and allow to rest. They should carry over to about 165 F (the recommended temperature for poultry). Oh, and don’t overload your skillet. You might be able to fit all the balls in there, but that doesn’t mean you should (giggle). Crowding the pan at once will cause it to cool down too much, resulting in greasy, soggy, not browned balls (and no one likes that either).
  5. We served our meatballs over whole wheat spaghetti. We doctored the jarred sauce by adding some sauteed onion and garlic, parsley, and red pepper flake. Not the most gorgeous dish I’ve ever served, but it was delicious.

The possibilities are endless with these meatballs. We froze half of what we made to make a quick dinner some other night. You could fry the entire batch and save what you don’t eat with the leftover spaghetti sauce and have meatball subs the next night. You could also make them a little smaller and serve them as an appetizer at a party. You could even fry them until they’re browned on all sides, then top with a little ketchup and bake at 350 F until they’re done though and have mini bite-sized meatloaf! I think I’m in love.What are your plans for the weekend? We’re going to Illinois for a surprise party for Kevin’s grandfather (and maybe to see my sister if she has her baby… keeping the fingers crossed)!

6 thoughts on “Itsa Spicy Meataball!

  1. I haven’t made meatballs in forever, but when I did, I would fry them, too. Maybe it’s because that’s how my mom made them but they always tasted better fried than baked.

  2. Haha! I had a balls post over Christmas! I think it’s just impossible to take certain words seriously. I have all of those ingredients at home and I hadn’t thought to make meatballs! We have spaghetti at least once a week, so meatballs would be a great way to mix things up on spaghetti night!

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

