Oh Baby, Baby! Part IV

If you missed Oh Baby, Baby! Parts I-III on the DIY baby shower I threw for my sister, you can find them here, here, and here.

Here we go. Episode four. To recap: my sister, Stephanie, and her husband, Nate, are expecting their first child, a little girl named Emma. I was honored to throw their shower. They decided not to go too girly for baby Emma’s nursery, opting for an animal theme in minty greens, pale oranges, and buttery yellows. Taking their theme and running (wild) with it, I planned a vintage carnival themed shower that took place in our parent’s greenhouse/restaurant.

The party was at 3 p.m., so we opted not to serve a full meal. Instead, we served my sister’s favorite nibbles: homemade ChexMix, cheeseball, olives, chips and salsa, and tortellini salad. Small palms, the homemade bunting,  and stuffed circus animals added to the vintage carnival atmosphere.

I also made about 300 mini cupcakes. I made three flavors: Key Lime Cupcakes, Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes,  and my own Dark Chocolate Orange Cupcakes. They were all delicious, but the key lime hold a special little place in my heart. I probably had fifteen of the little green beauties during the course of the party.

I bought these adorable paper straws from Pink Lemonade Party Shop on Etsy. She has the cutest party supplies! I could seriously go nuts over the baker’s twine and paper straws.

For the tables, we used colored scrapbook paper as placemats. Each place also had a swirl pop (in green, yellow, or orange) and a carnival-y favor bag of either animal crackers or circus peanuts.

Steph and Emma got a ton of gifts!

The party was a wild success. There were about fifty ladies there, including some of the most important women in my life (like my aunt, Mamaw, cousin Erika, sister Stephanie, my mom, and my Great-Grandmother).

Hope you all enjoyed my sister’s baby shower as much as we did!

7 thoughts on “Oh Baby, Baby! Part IV

  1. Everything looks great! I’d definitely hire you as an event planner/caterer 🙂
    Also, thanks for recommending the Etsy store. I’ve been looking for baker’s twine and those cute straws but have yet to decide where to buy them.

  2. I seriously got closer to the screen when the cupcake pictures came up hahaha! I might just have to make some this weekend (“baby” sister is turning 21, she would enjoy some deliciousness!).

  3. What a festive party! I love all the little details (those key lime pie cupcakes look adorable!!). We had the blue striped straws at our wedding – they were so fun to drink from!

  4. Pingback: Emma Sue « Little House. Big Heart.

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

