Call Me Shrimpy

Today, I’m thankful for my Momma, Mamaw, and Great-Grandmother for sharing their love of cooking with me. I love bustling around the kitchen, trying new recipes, and bringing happiness to people through what I prepare.  I may never be as good of a cook as those three women are (with their eyes closed and one hand tied behind their backs), but I’m very thankful to share in their passion and make it my own.

After seeing Ashley at Lewis in Love’s shrimp recipe on Monday I have seriously been craving the little critters. Unfortunately, Mother Hubbard’s cupboards refrigerator is quite bare and I didn’t have all everything I needed to make Ashley’s recipe. Not to be deterred, I improvised and ended up with one of the best (non-pork) recipes I’ve come up within a while.

Creamy Garlic Lime Shrimp

Prep: 45 minutes
Cooking: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

12-18 medium raw, peeled, deveined shrimp
1 shallot, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 limes, juiced, zest of one
2 tsp. red pepper flake (or to taste)
1 Tbsp. tequila
1/2 can diced tomatoes
1/4 c. cream
2 Tbsp. Olive Oil

Prep:

  1. Thaw, peel, and devein your shrimp (if they haven’t been already). I prefer to take the tails off, but if you like to leave them on, go for it.
  2. Wash and zest one lime, then juice both. 
  3. Combine lime juice, zest, garlic, red pepper flake, tequila, 1 Tbsp. olive oil, and shrimp and allow to marinade in the fridge for at least a half an hour. Don’t tell your husband if you use the extra special tequila he got while on business in Mexico in the pretty blue and white bottle.
  4. After the shrimp have chilled for at least half an hour, add the diced shallot and other tablespoon of olive oil to a saute pan. Once the shallots are translucent, add the shrimp and marinade.
  5. Once your shrimp are mostly done (about two minutes), add the drained canned tomatoes and cream. As always, the cream is optional, but makes the sauce much better!
  6. Reduce for about a minute and serve over rice!

This was, without a doubt, one of the better things I’ve made in a while (that was non-pork related). It may not look pretty, but it was tangy and sweet and spicy and delicious. It was seriously easy, too! Luckily, Kevin was out of town on business last night, so that meant more for me!

Whats your go-to dish when your cupboards are bare? When you’re home alone?

{Want to join the Thankful November Challenge, too? Find out how here at Paisley Print Shoes}

13 thoughts on “Call Me Shrimpy

    • Kev has been gone since Friday night. I clean house when he leaves and I don’t like to mess the kitchen up once I get it clean. Since he’s been gone, I’ve done frozen pizza twice, a can of refried beans, scrambled eggs, and sushi takeout. Last night was the first time I’ve actually cooked since he left!

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

