Feeling Book-ish

Today, I’m thankful for my Sunday School class. It’s called Honeymooners and is made up of couples who have been mostly married less than two years. The fellowship is wonderful and our leaders are amazing. I am so thankful that Kevin and I get to start our marriage learning with such a fun, God honoring group.

On Friday, I hinted at my big weekend project: wallpapering our living room bookcase. They’re Ikea Billy bookcases and were the first pieces of furniture we bought for the Little House when we moved in. I love these bookcases. They’re the first step to me realizing my dream ofย  a Beauty and the Beast-esque library someday. And even though I love them so much, they needed a little dressing up.

A few months ago, I found some inexpensive faux grass cloth at Lowe’s (allen + roth Raffia Texture Wallpaper) that I loved. I didn’t have a plan for it, but I bought a roll just to have on hand. You never know when you’re going to need faux grass cloth, right? After testing it on the bookcase for a week to decide if I liked it,ย  I decided to just go for it. No guts, no glory.

The actual wallpapering wasn’t as difficult as I expected. It basically went like this: cut paper roughly to size, leaving some extra, wet in bathtub for 30 seconds, fold paper over on itself and allow to paste to do it’s thing for five minutes, hang, smooth out bubbles, cut off excess with a razor blade. Repeat 8x. I had photos of the process, but unfortunately I was on a leftover Halloween candy sugar high and they all came out blurry.

Two episodes of Once Upon a Time later, the bookcases were looking pretty dapper.

After loading everything back into their rightful places, the final product looked like this.

Not too shabby if I do say so myself. Fievel agrees. We still have some plans to finish them off (a la crown molding), but the grass cloth brings some much needed warmpth to that side of the room and makes the bookcases look a little less cheap-o and a little more high end.

Finish any projects this weekend? Do you pets have a thing for getting in your photos? Indy and Fievel both fought to make their appearances in this post.

22 thoughts on “Feeling Book-ish

  1. Wow! Up until now I haven’t been completely sold on lining the back of bookcases, but what you did looks great! It makes me want to do something to the bookcases in my living room!

    My dog is a complete attention whore. Also, Fievel looks like one of the cats I had growing up. His name was Crazy because he was, well, crazy.

    Final point, I love “Once Upon a Time”.

  2. Oh I love!! Nice work! ๐Ÿ™‚ I never would have thought of using wallpaper in a bookcase… I need to remember that!
    I finally pulled out the sewing machine my mom bought me for Christmas like 5 years ago (she would be so proud) and made 3 pillows, a burp cloth and 2 shirts for Katie’s daughters…none of them look that great (but I didn’t have a pattern for any of them haha)…whatever…I tried! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The bookcase looks great! Has me thinking about re-doing our TV unit in a similar way. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Also wanted to mention that I was on Wedding gawker and was browsing the new weddings when I came across this http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/7ETGHy/fabyoubliss.com/2011/11/04/weekend-plans-pupp-awgs-1st-birthday-part-1-of-a-sweet-wedding-at-avon-gardens/

    I was thinking it looked an awful lot like you… then read it and it was! Did you know about this? Your wedding was beautiful by the way!

  4. Haha I have the same dream of a house with a library a la Beauty and the Beast. My husband bought me a bookcase that looks a lot like yours (but black) last year for Christmas. I really love your grasscloth idea and might use it on my bookcase as well. Great job!

  5. Pingback: Let’s Talk Turkey. Again. « Little House. Big Heart.

  6. Pingback: A Little House Tour « Little House. Big Heart.

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

