Design Dilemma: Passing the Bar (Again)

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, it’s Friday. Finally. It’s going to be a good weekend, I can tell. Kevin gets home from Boston today, I woke up headache free, and we have a Halloween party tonight (which means I’ll probably wake up with a headache tomorrow). To kick the weekend off right, I thought we’d do another Design Dilemma. I had this planned for yesterday, but a migraine kept me from doing basically anything.

Today’s dilemma: our new dining room bar/buffet. We found this baby on Craigslist for $50. It has tons of storage, but is a terrible orange-y stained finish. Kevin wants to paint it white. My mom thinks we should paint it black. I’m leaning towards painting the bottom a creamier white and restaining the top to match our espresso finished table and chairs. New nobs are a given. What do you think? (Excuse the picture quality. I snapped these as I was running out the door this morning… it was dark and I was late)

We did solve last weeks dilemma (at least temporarily). On our trip to Ikea to buy our new dining room chairs, we found a great fur throw. We tossed it over the ottomans and Viola! It looks like a solid piece of furniture now. We’ll probably still end up reupholstering them, but in the interim, they don’t look to shabby! Thanks to Jennifer at yum.neatlysliced.com for the suggestion!

Finally, I’m super flattered to announce that Erin over at His & Hers and Brandi at His Shabby Her Chic have both passed on the Versatile Blogger Award to me! I was really needing some encouragement in the blog department, and this really did the trick. Thanks, Erin and Brandi!

When you receive the Versatile Blogger Award, you’re supposed to pass it on to other new-ish bloggers whom you think are doing a great job and could use a little encouragement (couldn’t we all?). I’ve decided to pass the award on to the following amazing bloggers.

Megan and Andrew at Fresh Nest Blog
Megan and Andrew are newly weds and new homeowners like us. They’re doing some fantastic renovations to their new home! You should see their kitchen makeover!

Amanda and Forrest at Tickled Winks
Another pair of newlyweds, Amanda and Forrest share their awesome fitness tips and have one cute puppy!

Mac at Strewth-Tiger
Mac is hilarious. Nuff Said.

Amanda at Lessons in Farming
This girl can grow things (and can them)! And check out her completely DIYed barn wedding… it was gorgeous!

Kristen at Popcorn on the Stove
Kristen is getting married this weekend. She’s planned an absolutely to-die-for wedding that I can’t wait to see pictures from!

The second part of the award is to share seven things about yourself.

  1. In high school, I wanted to be a professional ballet dancer. This dream died when I realized that being a dancer would mean no cheeseburgers, no pasta, and no cheesecake.
  2. I have a southern Indiana hillbilly accent after you get a couple glasses of wine in me. What can I say? I go back to my roots.
  3. I love working on and rebuilding engines. I helped rebuild my pickup truck when I was 16 with my Dad. I’ve loved it ever since.
  4. I’m an aunt to two gorgeous baby girls. Isabella is 16 months and Emma is due on February 8. Their Aunt Jess loves buying them little dresses and little shoes and dolls…
  5. Indy is my first real dog. We had a dog on the farm that split time between us an another family across the woods growing up, but Indiana is the first really puppy I’ve ever had.
  6. Someday, when I grow up, I want to have a small cafe. Engineering is a great career, but I love cooking for other people. There is nothing like seeing enjoyment on other people’s faces as they eat what I’ve prepared. I love making people happy with food!
  7. This blog still scares the pants off me. It took me ages to get up the courage to start LHBH and I still have doubts every now and then: What if people don’t like it? What if they don’t read it? What if they think I’m dumb?

What are your plans for the weekend? What do you think we should do with the bar?

12 thoughts on “Design Dilemma: Passing the Bar (Again)

  1. The throw looks great over the ottoman cubes. I look at the fur throw at Ikea every single time I go there, but have yet to think of a place to put it.

    I think you should paint the bottom of the bar/buffet white and stain the top a color to match the table. Best of both worlds for you and Kevin too!

    And I love reading your blog!

    Hope your headache stays away, even if it will be self-induced tomorrow 🙂

  2. I’d do something lighter too. White would be nice with some fun, colorful pulls. Or, if you’re really feeling adventurous, I’d go with a color (like green) from one of your adjoining rooms or pick another accent color in the room. I love a great splash of color in a room. Love the piece though…and for $50? Shoot, can’t beat that!

  3. Oh I’m so glad you got the fur throw! It looks SO good! You’ll love how warm and fuzzy it feels if you have bare feet when you lounge on the couch. Our 2 kitties love to hang out on ours too.

    I understand your fear with the new blog! I have a blog for web development and then the food one. I often don’t have time or ideas for posting. We want to start a house one but I have trouble keeping the other ones posted to enough already. I like how you incorporate food and different topics in your blog. With regard to bad feedback, just take a note from YHL – everyone will have a differing opinion and don’t let it get to you. Just because they disagree with you, it doesn’t mean your ideas are bad!

    Keep up the good work, your blog is cute and it’s in my feed reader. I think I found you through a comment on either Bower Power or YHL.

  4. You are MOST welcome! One of my favorite parts about blogging is the encouragement we can give others. 🙂

    ps-totally died laughing at the notion of Leonardo Dicaprio painting the Moaning Lisa. Did you make that up, or did you see that somewhere?? I must know. 🙂

  5. Don’t stop blogging! When I’m having a crappy day at work (like right now) I catch up with the posts. And when I read the words, I hear your voice saying them, and it makes me feel like we aren’t on opposite sides of the country!

    As for the bar, I’m not sure how tall the drawers are, but could you take out one and put in some of the racks that hang stemmed glasses upside down? That could make your storage more versatile, and if you’re like me, you have more wine glasses than you know what to do with.

    Oh, and after about 15 minutes with my family, my accent comes back. Ryan finds it hilarious. After spending a weekend with them, I have to watch what I say at work lest I come across as unedumacated. 😉

  6. Pingback: Let’s Talk Turkey. Again. « Little House. Big Heart.

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

