Challenge…. Completed! Part II

As if our ribbon chandy wasn’t enough, the hubs and I decided to do a second Pinterest inspired project: living room art. Because of our DIY-ed wedding, crazy work schedules, and the fact that we’re basically starting 100% from scratch, decorating on the little house has been virtually nonexistent. The hubs and I decided it was time that changed. Ok. I decided. The TV has been hung in the living room since April. That’s enough decor as far as the hubs is concerned.

Our living room art was inspired by this pin:

This project was super easy! We bought two 18×24 canvases from Michael’s for $12. We already had the painters tape and we bought paint samples from Home Depot in Herbal Green by Behr.

We put random strips of the painters tape on the canvas, being sure to wrap the tape around the edges. Also, I have no idea how those Whoppers got home or who ate half of them before the hubs got any. Or who ate the last two. Probably it was the cat.

After the tape was on, we took the canvases outside to paint. We learned the hard way that Jess+paint+hardwood floors is not a good combination. Thanks to the recent move, we had a couple tubs handy to serve as platforms so I didn’t paint the deck was able to paint the sides of the canvas.After a light second coat, we let them dry for about 20 minutes and then pulled the tape off. We had a little bleed through under the tape, but when you stand back and look at them, it looks like its supposed to be that way. Score!

Fievel approved of the artwork and attempted to claim one painting as his own. It did match his collar and eyes.

Here’s the final product! I think it’ll look pretty cozy once we get some throw pillows made for the couch, don’t you? Maybe that would be a good project for Mom, Mamaw, and I while I’m gimpy from my surgery? The are the craftiest women ever. I mean it. Ever.

Did you participate in the Pinterest Challenge? Does candy mysteriously appear in your shopping cart? Do your pets have superior taste in artowrk?

15 thoughts on “Challenge…. Completed! Part II

  1. OMG, I did a project similiar to this too! Love how yours turned out. I’m definitely going to have to give this a try πŸ™‚ p.s. you can check mine out thriftyandfabuless.blogspot.com

  2. Very cool art project! Thanks for sharing. Maybe some day I’ll do something like that… the finished product is great looking, and sounds like it’s pretty easy to do.

    I found your blog through YHL – keep up the nice work πŸ™‚

  3. Hey by the way, my blog is trytoenjoy.wordpress.com – I just started it up recently, as a hobby sort of like you. For some reason I don’t think my wordpress account links to my blog… I guess I should look into that.

  4. Pingback: Hey there, Cupcake. « Little House. Big Heart.

  5. Pingback: It’s Curtains for You | Little House. Big Heart.

  6. Pingback: 300 | Little House. Big Heart.

We'd love to hear what you have to say!

